The Google+ Cheat Sheet for Image Sizing & Dimensions

Google+ has recently rolled out a new timeline interface. For the most recent layout changes we’ve created a Google+ Cheat Sheet Infographic featuring the correct image sizes and dimensions. Refer to this cheat sheet to learn about the new “blurred” timeline effect and why it’s effective.

Google+-Cheat-Sheet

Profile

The profile picture is displayed as a circular image. It is recommended to upload an image that is 250 x 250 pixels. If the uploaded image is larger than these dimensions, the edges of your image will be cut off to fit into the circular space.

Cover Photo

Google+ has recently redesigned their cover photo layout. The circular profile picture, page information, and follow/+ 1 buttons now appear in a blurred effect on the left hand side of the cover photo. This new feature was implemented to highlight page details much better than previous layouts.

The About, Posts, and other tabs have been shifted from the top of the page to underneath the redesigned cover photo. The cover photo has been reduced in size but still retains the 16:9 ratio.

Google’s suggested maximum size is 1080 x 608 pixels. Keep in mind that the full image size will not always show on smaller monitors. When creating a cover photo it is recommended to check how the image is displayed on multiple browsers and resolutions.

Status Update

You have up to 100,000 characters & hashtags when updating your status on Google+.

Shared Link

Sharing a link on Google+ will generate a square thumbnail measuring 150 x 150 pixels.

Shared Image

A shared image on Google+ will be displayed at 497 x 373 pixels. The image can be uploaded and viewed up to 2048 x 2048 pixels.

Shared Video

Uploading a video on your Google+ profile will measure 497 x 279 pixels.

Now that you are aware of the most recent Google+ updates, you should get started on updating your Google+ profile. Bookmark this page in your browser and refer to it when you’re creating your branded graphics.

The YouTube Cheat Sheet for Image Sizing & Dimensions

YouTube has made it easier than ever to upload customized artwork to your branded channel. There are only a few key dimensions that you need to know to optimize your channel art for every platform. Follow our YouTube image sizing & dimension guide below for best results.

Youtube-Cheat-Sheet-1

Profile Picture

The profile picture is displayed at 55 x 55 pixels and is located on the left hand side of the channel art.

Channel Art (Master Template)

Your channel art will be displayed at varying dimensions across different platforms. However, it is recommended to upload an image size of 2560 x 1440 pixels for all devices. You are then able to view your image on different devices: Desktop, Mobile & Tablets, and then make adjustments according to the chosen platform.

Desktop Banner

The banner image has a flexible width on desktop and will scale to reveal more content on larger browsers. The minimum width the banner image will be displayed when viewed on a desktop is 1546 x 423. This is called the “safe area” and is always visible to users. When creating a banner for the desktop, make sure the branded logo or text is centered within these boundaries. The maximum width of the banner image on a desktop (and recommended upload size) is 2560 x 423 pixels. The entire width may be visible depending on the viewer’s browsers size.

Mobile & Tablets:

Due to the wide variety of screen sizes for mobile devices, it is recommended that when creating a banner image for such a device, you cater your design to the “safe area” and upload an image size of at least 1546 x 423 pixels. The maximum image size is 2560 x 423 pixels. The image will automatically be scaled down to the width of the mobile device.

On tablets, it is recommended to upload an image size of 1855 x 423 pixels. The “safe area” measures 1280 x 350 pixels and will be visible on all tablet devices.

How do you customize your YouTube channel? Feel free to share your YouTube channel below.

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?